Skip to main content

MASTER Guide: Home

This contains all boxes that are re-used or linked to from various libguides.

ABC-Clio Social Studies Databases

African American Experience

American Government

American History

Modern Genocide

U.S. Geography

World at War

World Geography

World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras

World History: The Modern Era

World Religions

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Requires BPL Library card)

JSTOR-Search for Academic Journal Articles (BPL Library Card Required)

Google Book Search

Many titles published over 70 years ago are in the public domain and are available online.

Learn more about public domain and copyright from Cornell University.

The Boston Globe (Requires BPL Card)

TIP: To find articles from today's paper:

  • Go to Advanced Search
  • Go to Publication Date
  • Select "After this date..."
  • Type in yesterday's date

All Databases

 

ABC-Clio Social Studies Databases

African American Experience - American Government - American History - U.S. Geography - Worlds At War - World Geography - World Religions - World History: Ancient & Medieval - World History: Modern Era

 

Academic OneFile Academic One provides peer-reviewed scholarly content from Gale
Biography In Context

Biography in Context (Gale)

Britannica High School

 

Full text of The Boston Globe 1980-present

Thousands of reference articles from large collection of subject encyclopedias (BPL Library Card required)

Global Issues with magazine, journal and book articles on global issues and topics.
Full Text 
Atlanta Constitution (from 1868-1984)
Chicago Defender Graphica (from 1910-1975) - African American newspaper published since 1910
Chicago Tribune (from 1849-1992)
Wall Street Journal (from 1889-1999)
Washington Post (from 1877-1999)
Scholarly journal articles from thousands of academic resources across many disciplines. (BPL Card with PIN required)
Literature Criticism Online includes content from Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (the big brown books in the Literary Reference section of the Keefe Library)
     Literature Resource Center-Full-text articles; literary criticism; author biographies; critical essays; reviews from scholarly journals and literary magazines. Poetry, plays, short stories and more.
Collection includes Nature (1869 to present), Nature Chemistry, Nature Biotechnology, and Nature Physics.
Full-text articles from The New York Times 1985 to present
Opposing Viewpoints provides essays, arguments and viewpoints on various sides of controversial topics.
Science magazine from American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Includes: 
  • Science: 1997-current issue
  • Science Classic: 1880-1996
  • ScienceNOW
Science in Context provides a range of  current magazine, newspaper, journal articles and book chapters from a variety of scientific publications.
Scientific American magazine (1845 to present)
U.S. History in Context provides a range of magazine, newspaper, journal articles and book chapters from a variety of publications.
World History in Context provides a range of magazine, newspaper, journal articles and book chapters from a variety of publications.