Skip to main content

Harry V. Keefe Library, Boston Latin School: Databases

Welcome to the Keefe Library at Boston Latin School!

EBSCO Discovery Search

General Databases

General Information

Academic OneFile Academic One provides more scholarly content including peer-reviewed.
Biography In Context

Biography in Context (Gale)

Britannica High School 

 

GVRL offers thousands of reference articles from large collection of subject encyclopedias (BPL Library Card required)

View All Gale Databases 

Newspapers

Newspapers

Full text of The Boston Globe 1980-present

Full-text articles from The New York Times 1985 to present

Gale Resources

AP, Subject SAT, SAT and more test prep Gale database. Login with BPS credentials, then set up your personal account to take practice tests and find PDF's of test prep books.

History Databases

History

African American Experience - American Government - American History - U.S. Geography - Worlds At War - World Geography - World Religions - World History: Ancient & Medieval - World History: Modern Era

 

ABC-Clio Social Studies Databases 

Biography In Context 
 
Biography in Context (Gale)
  Global Issues with magazine, journal and book articles on global issues and topics.
  JSTOR offers scholarly journal articles across disciplines. (BPL Card with PIN required)
  U.S. History in Context provides a range of magazine, newspaper, journal articles and book chapters from a variety of publications.
 World History in Context provides a range of magazine, newspaper, journal articles and book chapters from a variety of publications.

Research Issues

Investigate Issues

Global Issues with magazine, journal and book articles on global issues and topics.
Opposing Viewpoints provides essays, arguments and viewpoints on various sides of controversial topics.

Science Journals

Science Journals & Databases

Collection includes Nature (1869 to present), Nature Chemistry, Nature Biotechnology, and Nature Physics.
Science magazine from American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Includes: 
  • Science: 1997-current issue
  • Science Classic: 1880-1996
  • ScienceNOW
Science in Context provides a range of  current magazine, newspaper, journal articles and book chapters from a variety of scientific publications.
Scientific American magazine (1845 to present)

Literature Databases

Literature

Literature Criticism Online includes content from Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (the big brown books in the Literary Reference section of the Keefe Library)
     Literature Resource Center-Full-text articles; literary criticism; author biographies; critical essays; reviews from scholarly journals and literary magazines. Poetry, plays, short stories and more.
  JSTOR offers scholarly journal articles across many disciplines. (BPL Card with PIN required)

Need More Options?

Boston Public Library electronic resources - With a BPL card and PIN you have access to many resources and media: audiobooks, ebooks, music, TV shows, movies, popular digital magazines and more.

Need help?  Stop by the library!