This is the "Home" page of the "Art and visual images" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art and visual images  

Last Updated: Jan 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.bls.org/content.php?pid=706954 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Arts and Culture

Google Arts and Culture

Search by artist, artistic movements, medium or places. High quality images. Clicking on image provides you with citation info.

Creative Commons

Creative Commons

Use Creative Commons search to find images that have been licensed for re-use. Read the Rights section to see if you can use the image. Bet bet: search Flickr for images of art, architecture, cityscapes, etc. Be sure to site the creator and give credit in a caption.

Museum websites

General collections

  • The Getty Large, general collection. Search the J. Paul Getty Museum of  Los Angeles' image database. Download and gather information for citation.
  •  The Met Large general collection. Search the Metropolitan Museum of New York's image database (almost 500,000 images.) Download and gather information for citation.

By region

Asia

  • Asian Art Museum Search this San Francisco museum's collection of over 12,000 objects from a variety of Asian countries.
  • Silk Road Database The Yale Silk Road Database presents over 11,000 images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars.

France

  • Altas (In English) The Atlas database covers all the works exhibited in the Louve (Paris) - some 30,000 items.
  • Images D'Art (In English) Discover, collect and share photographs of more than 500,000 works held in French museum collections.
  • Joconde (In French) Database of the collections of the state museums of France. Over 300,000 description and images of art from all over the world.

Italy

  • Bagatti Valsecchi Museum (in Italian) From the museum's collection in Milan. Includes art, musical instruments, precious objects, clocks and scientific equipment and armaments.
  • Casa Buonarrot(in Italian) Works by Michelangelo.

 

 

 

 

      

    Art Babble

    Art Babble

    High quality art-related video content from more than 50 cultural institutions from around the world. Search by themes, medium, period & style, location or people.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip