U.S. Historical Newspapers (Requires BPL Card)
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922)Features over 1,000 historical newspapers from all 50 states with articles on every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Chronicling America (Library of Congress)Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (InfoTrac)Featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Norman B. Leventhal Map Center
Digital Public Library of America
Search for images and primary sources from archives from collections and libraries across the U.S. in Digital Public Library of America
Museum of Fine Arts (MFA) Boston
Museum of Fine Arts (Digital collections)
ABC-Clio Social Studies Databases
TIP: Filter by "Primary Source" in each database
(American Government; American History; Modern Genocide; U.S. Geography; World at War; World Geography; World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras; World History: The Modern Era; World Religions)
Google Custom Search
Search Library of Congress, National Archives, U.S. Foreign Policy Documents, Presidential Libraries, Gilder Lerhman Institute of American History, Yale's Avalon Project, Documenting the American South, several university archives and many historical document websites.
From The National Archives
Select documents, lessons and actvities from the National Archives.
