LibGuides: Harry V. Keefe Library, Boston Latin School: Databases

Databases by Subject

English/Literature

	Literature Criticism Online includes content from Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (the big brown books in the Literary Reference section of the Keefe Library)
	Literature Resource Center-Full-text articles; literary criticism; author biographies; critical essays; reviews from scholarly journals and literary magazines. Poetry, plays, short stories and more.
	Pop Culture Collection (Gale) - Popular magazines and scholarly journals that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
	JSTOR offers scholarly journal articles across many disciplines. (BPL Card with PIN required)

History

ABC-Clio Social Studies Databases - Offers an extensive collectoin of secondary and primary sources. Search all databases together or individually by subject:

Biography in Context (Gale) - Find biographical information on famous historical figures.

Global Issues (Gale) with magazine, journal and book articles on global issues and topics.

JSTOR offers scholarly journal articles across disciplines. (BPL Card with PIN required)

Pop Culture Collection (Gale) - Popular magazines and scholarly journals that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

Religion & Philosphy (Gale) - Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.

U.S. History in Context (Gale) provides a range of magazine, newspaper, journal articles, and book chapters from a variety of publications.

World History in Context (Gale) provides a range of magazine, newspaper, journal articles and book chapters from a variety of publications.

Science

	Science magazine from American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Includes: Science: 1997-current issue Science Classic: 1880-1996 ScienceNOW
	Scientifc American (2014-2023) To search all issues: Open current issue Click on the magifying glass to open up search Select "All Issues" from drop down box, enter a keyword.
	Science Database - Search for full-text and peer-reviewed articles in general and the applied sciences.
	Environmental Studies in Context (Gale) provides a range of current magazine, newspaper, journal articles and book chapters on environmental science.
	Science in Context (Gale) provides a range of current magazine, newspaper, journal articles and book chapters from a variety of scientific publications.
	Science Interactive (Gale) - View simulations of experiments across scientific disciplines.
	PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's database of science journal articles for in depth research. Note: Many articles are indexed but not all are linked to full-text.

Tips for EBSCO Searching (The Big Purple Box)

NEW!

To search all digital resources (databases, articles, and ebooks):

Type in search term.
Filter by:
- type of source (ebook, academic journal, news, etc.)
- database ("content provider")
- time period
Advanced Search - Allows you to search on mulitple terms, narrow by date, type of article, or a specfic journal/magazine.

To find books - Click on "Find a Book" to search the Boston Public Library/Boston Public Schools catalog.

General Information Resources

News

Full text of The Boston Globe 1980-present

Unlimited Full Digital edition at BLS. (Directions for setting up your account.)

Proquest database to search for full-text articles from The New York Times 1985 to present.

News (Gale) - Access major and local U.S. and international newspapers. Find articles instantly by title, headline, date, or location.

General Information

Academic OneFile - Find peer-reviewed and scholarly journal articles.

Biography in Context (Gale) is an extensive collection of articles on famous people in politics, the arts, science, historical figures, writers, and more. Includes both historical and current people.

Britannica High School - Encyclopedia that provides background information on a variety of topics.

Power Search - Search across Gale databases. Check off those to include.

A-Z list of all Gale Databases

Gale offers databases in many content areas:

Research an Issue

	Global Issues (Gale) with magazine, journal and book articles on global issues and topics.
	Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) provides essays, arguments and viewpoints on various sides of controversial topics.

Harry V. Keefe Library, Boston Latin School: Databases

Keefe Library Digital Resources