Explore - 10th Grade Health - Building Mental Health - LibGuides at Boston Latin School

Intro - Start Here!

Start Here!
In class, you looked through 3 books on topics related to mental health. For homework, you will do the same thing with digital sources. Choose 3 sources from the sections below and complete a stop and jot for each.

Scroll through the page to see all of the topics and sources, or use the menu on the left side of the page to jump to a topic of interest. Source types are designated by the icons below.

Body Image

Body Image

Body Image (21 min) - This Teenage Life
What Students are Saying About How Social Media Affects Their Body Image - The New York Times
How Do Men Battle With Body Image? (13 min) - BBC Sport
How Does Body Image Affect Mental Health? (3 min) - INTEGRIS Health
Teen Guide to Mental Health By Don Nardo

Communication

Communication

25 Key Interpersonal Skills for Well-Being - Psychology Today
Communication Skills for Teens : How to Listen, Express, and Connect for Success - By Michelle Skeet et al.
Empowering Communication: "Tell me more" (7 min) - TEDx
How Miscommunication Happens (and How To Avoid It) (4 min) - TEDed
The Teen's Guide to Face-to-Face Connections in a Screen-to-Screen World : 40 Tips to Meaningful Communication - By Jonathan and Alyssa McKee

Diet

Diet

Foods for Thought: Understanding the Impact of Diet and Lifestyle on Mental Health By Jason Pawlowski (available on Hoopla)
How the Food You Eat Affects Your Brain - Mia Nacamulli (5 min) - TED-Ed
The happiness diet. H E A LT H "Nutritional psychiatry" says we can eat our way to better mental health - Gale Databases
Diet and Mental Health - Mental Health Foundation (UK)

Emotions

Emotions

Managing Intense Emotions for High School Students (6 min) - Child Mind Institute
Understanding Your Emotions - NEMOURS Kids Health
Wheel of Emotions - Idaho State University
You're Not Alone in Feeling Lonely (26 min) - This Teenage Life

Mental Illnesses

Mental Illnesses

Introduction to Mental Illnesses	Mental Health Conditions - NAMI What is Anxiety (4 min) - NAMI What is Bipolar Disorder (2 min) - NAMI What is Depression (3 min) - NAMI What is Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (3 min) - NAMI What is Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (3 min) - NAMI What is Schizophrenia (3 min) - NAMI
Stigma	Let’s Face It, No One Wants To Talk About Mental Health - McLean Hospital PTSD - Stigma (1 min) - New York Presbyterian Hospital Is Mental Health Still Misconstrued on Screen? Psychology Goes to Hollywood to Dispel Stigma - American Psychological Association (APA)
Treatments & Coping Skills	5 Mental Health Coping Skills (6 min) - NAMI 6 Habits to Reduce Stress and Anxiety (6 min) - Psych2Go Getting Help: Coping with and Overcoming Mental Illness By Gail Mooney Treatments - NAMI

Mindfulness & Meditation

Mindfulness & Meditation

Everyday Mindfulness (5 min) - AboutKidsHealth
How Does Meditation Change the Brain? (2 min) - Scientific American
Mindfulness (For Teens) - NEMOURS Kids Health
Mindfulness and Meditation: Your Questions Answered By Blaise Aguirre

Mindset & Happiness

Mindset & Happiness

Growth Mindset vs Fixed Mindset - Psychology Today
Mindsets and Adolescent Mental Health - Nature Mental Health
The Truth About Happiness with Dr. Laurie Santos (5 min) - Headspace
How To Be Happier in 5 Steps with Zero Weird Tricks (8 min) - Big Think

Neuroscience & Brain Development

Neuroscience & Brain Development

InBrief: The Science of Early Childhood Development - Harvard University
Neuroscience and Brain Development - Anna Freud Foundation
What Neuroscience Tells Us About The Teenage Brain - American Psychological Association (APA)
The Teen Brain: What Are They Thinking? (22 min) - Children's Health Council

Personal Identity

Personal Identity

General Resources	Identity and Cultural Dimensions - The National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) Self at Home vs. At School (12 min) - This Teenage Life Too Muchness (10 min) - This Teenage Life Racism and Mental Health - Mental Health America (MHA)
Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI)	An AAPI Perspective: Cultural Roots of Mental Health - Gale Databases A Brief But Spectacular Take on Asian American Mental Health (3 min) - PBS on YouTube How Institutions Can Improve AAPI Students' Mental Health - Gale Databases Identity and Cultural Dimensions: Asian American Native Hawaiian Pacific Islander - National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) Mental Health in the AAPI Community (37 min) - Providence Healthcare
Athletes	An Introduction for Athletes - University of North Texas How Do Men Battle With Body Image? (12 min) - BBC Sport Student Athletes are Struggling with Mental Health issues: What to Know (3 min) - ClickOnDetroit Youth Sports and Mental Health - Gale Databases
Black & African American	Black Men and Mental Health (3 min) - The Chicago School Black Teens Gain Mental Health Boost From 'Connectedness' at School - Gale Databases Causes Behind Black Women’s Mental Health Inequities (3 min) - ABC News Changing Views on Mental Health in the Black Community (14 min) - TEDx Identity and Cultural Dimensions: Black/African American - National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
Gender & Sexual Identity	Identity and Cultural Dimensions: LGBTQ+ - National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) The Impact of Age and Gender on Mental Health - McLean Hospital Intersection of Sexual Identity and Mental Health (2 min) - Homewood Health Queerness and Community (13 min) - This Teenage Life
Hispanic & Latino	Culture Barrier Risks Hispanic Mental Health - Gale Databases Democrats Introduce Bill to Improve Mental Health of Young Hispanics. - Gale Databases Identity and Cultural Dimensions: Hispanic/Latinx - National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) Imperfecta: A Latina Mental Health Journey (10 min) - TEDx Mental Health + the Latinx Communities (30 min) - Providence Healthcare
Indigenous Peoples	Identity and Cultural Dimensions: Indigenous - National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) Native American Mental Health: What You Need To Know - McLean Hospital Native and Indigenous Communities and Mental Health - Mental Health America Two Americas: Native American Lessons in Understanding Mental Health (3 min) - Fox 13 News
People with Disabilities	The Arc and United Health Foundation Launch $2.5M Partnership to Tackle Mental Health Crisis for People with Disabilities - Gale Databases Hidden Disability 2 (16 min) - This Teenage Life How the Mental Health Crisis Impacts Americans With Disabilities (4 min) - The ARC of the United States Identity and Cultural Dimensions: People with Disabilities - National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) The Mental Health of People with Disabilities - Center for Disease Control (CDC)