LibGuides: To Kill A Mockingbird 2025: Home

Databases

ABC-Clio Social Studies Databases

African American Experience

Gale Databases

U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
provides a range of magazine, newspaper, journal articles, and book chapters from a variety of publications.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
provides essays, arguments and viewpoints on various sides of controversial topics.

Newspaper Archives

Boston Globe (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text article archive of the Boston Globe from 1980 to the present.
New York Times (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text article archive of the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News is a full-text newspaper resource providing access to major U.S. regional, local, and national newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Read these reference articles for background information on your topics.

Domestic Workers	Domestic Work - from ABC-Clio African American Experience Domestic Service - from Britannica School
Jury Discrimination	Jury Composition - from ABC-Clio American Government Read the "Representation" section Jury System - from Britannica School Read the "Petit, or Trial, Juries" section
Right to a Fair Trial	Defendant Rights - from ABC-Clio American Government Read the intro paragraph, the "Establishment of the Constitution and Amendments," and "Why Defendant Rights are Important" sections United States Constitution - from Britannica School Read the information about the Sixth Amendment in the "Amendments to the Constitution > Bill of Rights Explained" section
Wrongful Conviction	Defendant Rights - from ABC-Clio American Government Read the intro paragraph, the "Establishment of the Constitution and Amendments," and "Why Defendant Rights are Important" sections Exoneration - from Gale US History
Racial Bias and Racial Stereotypes	Racism - from Britannica School Read the "Effects of Racism" section Stereotypes - from ABC-Clio African American Experience